• Welcome to Peterborough Linux User Group (Canada) Forum.

Annoying ads in Brave Browser

Started by fox, December 30, 2021, 02:30:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fox

I've been using Brave almost exclusively on my computer for about two months now. I like its speed, and compatibility is almost 100%, but lately I've gotten annoyed with its ads and the ad display format. They are in-your-face in a different way than those on other browsers, but the ads are repeats of the same ones, and after awhile I found them more annoying than the ones I get on Firefox. As a result, I changed back to Firefox as my default browser, and will be using it again almost exclusively. If by doing so I find other things more annoying in FF, I'll revert back to Brave.
Ubuntu 23.10 on 2019 5k iMac
Ubuntu 22.04 on Dell XPS 13

Jason

This is part of the Brave Rewards program. The ads you see make contributions to the websites you visit (or you can get paid for viewing them instead). You can choose how many you see per hour (from 1 to 10) if that makes them more palatable. You can also just turn off the ads. Here's how:

Click on the triangle on the right side of the location bar. Then click on the gear icon to the right of 'Summary'. Then look at your settings under Ads. You can turn them off completely by clicking on the slider. I've attached a screenshot of what the Brave Rewards page looks like. Going to the homepage will also show the page for you unless you've set your homepage to something different.

After a while, I've gotten used to the ads. Since Brave shows fewer ads than other browsers, and the ads help content producers that are part of their ad network, I tolerate them. The websites make more money from them than Google ads and unlike those, the information about your preferences is stored locally. The ads will be more diverse over time as more content producers sign on.